Minutes of a Regular Meeting and Public Hearing of the Port Sheldon Township Board

January 12, 2022 – 5:30 P.M.

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Roll Call

Present: Howard Baumann, Teresa De Graaf and Gerald Smith

Absent: Rachel Frantom and Bill Monhollon

Also present: Attorney, Ron Bultje, Fire Chief, Brad Dirkse, PLM representative, Jaimee Desjardins, Clear Water Lake Management representative, Mark Harrison and eleven township residents.

- 3. Pledge of allegiance.
- 4. Invocation

Gerald Smith offered the invocation.

- 5. Additions to Agenda: Resolution #3 for SAD inserted at item 8.
- 6. Approval of Agenda.

Motion by Smith to approve the agenda with additions. Supported by Baumann and carried.

- 7. Consent Agenda Approval
 - a. Approve Minutes- December 8, 2021 Regular Meeting.
 - b. Approve Financial Report
 - c. Approve Correspondence: Randy De Graaf resignation, Lisa Dirkse resignation and Rachel Frantom email
 - d. Approve Committee Reports
 - Building December report eighteen permits issued with eight new house starts.
 - Fire Department December report twenty-four calls and two meetings. Two hundred and eighty-five calls were handled for the calendar year 2021.
 - e. Approve payment of Bills

Motion by De Graaf to approve the consent agenda. Supported by Smith and carried.

8. Public Hearing - Special Assessment District for Pigeon Lake weed control.

Supervisor Baumann explained the process for the request for an S.A.D.

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf open public hearing to determine necessity and hear any objections to the petition for a S.A.D. for Pigeon Lake. Supported by Smith and carried.

Public Hearing opened at 5:42 p.m.

Emails supporting the SAD were received from Corey Berends, Sandy and Dave Turner, Anne Dalecke, Bart Bale, Ralph and Linda Fairbanks, Mary Van Hof, Tom Brown, and Craig and Jenny Niemann.

An email was received from from Scot and Nancy Diedrich supporting continued lake treatment only if the DNR is a contributing partner.

Emails opposing the SAD were received from George Tesseris and Chris and Terri Tesseris.

PLM representative, Jaimee Desjardins, explained the five-year successes and results of their treatment of Pigeon Lake and answered questions from residents.

Mark Harrison form Clear Water Lake Management introduced himself and explained the services his company provides, including a treatment satisfaction guarantee. He also fielded questions from residents.

Both representatives agreed to work with Diver Assisted Suction Harvesting (DASH) if that treatment option was selected.

Public Comments:

George Tesseris, 17204 Woodlawn Drive, questioned the safety of chemical treatment but had no objection to the establishment of the SAD itself.

Bart Bale, 16887 Lake Avenue, is in support of the SAD, questioned the annual dollar amount, and understands the township's response.

Ralph Fairbanks, 16701 Ten Hagen is in support of the SAD, but questioned the coverage area.

Ann Dalecke, 16642 Ten Hagen, questioned why only lake property owners are assessed.

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf to close the Public Hearing. Supported by Smith and carried. Public Hearing closed at 6:20 p.m.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to adopt a Resolution #2. Supported by De Graaf and carried with three yes roll call votes. Ayes: Howard Baumann, Teresa De Graaf and Gerald Smith. Nays: None

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to adopt a Resolution #3. Supported by Baumann and carried with three yes roll call votes. Ayes: Howard Baumann, Teresa De Graaf and Gerald Smith. Nays: None

9. Consider Poverty Exemption Resolution.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to adopt the 2022 Poverty Guidelines Resolution. Supported by De Graaf and carried with three yes roll call votes. Ayes: Howard Baumann, Teresa De Graaf and Gerald Smith. Nays: None

10. Request from West Ottawa Public Schools to collect the 2022 Summer Tax Levy

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to approve the request from West Ottawa Public Schools to collect the 2022 Summer Tax levy. Supported by De Graaf and carried.

11. Request from Grand Haven Public Schools to collect the 2022 Summer Tax Levy.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to approve the request from Grand Haven Public Schools to collect the 2022 Summer Tax levy. Supported by Baumann and carried.

12. Request from OAISD to collect the 2022 Summer Tax Levy.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to approve the request from OAISD to collect the 2022 Summer Tax levy. Supported by De Graaf and carried.

13. Planning Commission Appointments

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf to accept the Supervisor's appointment of Nicole Timmer to the Planning Commission for a three-year term expiring January 1, 2025. Supported by Smith and carried.

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf to accept the Supervisor's appointment of Steve Grilley to the Planning Commission to fill an unexpired term expiring January 1, 2023. Supported by Smith and carried.

14. Zoning Board of Appeals appointment.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to appoint Brian VanBeveren to the Zoning Board of Appeals to fill an unexpired term expiring January 1, 2024. Supported by Baumann and carried.

15. Cemetery Sexton position.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to accept the Randy De Graaf's resignation, with regrets and to appoint Shane Cole as the Cemetery Sexton. Supported by De Graaf and carried.

16. Township Office and Hall Custodian position.

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf to accept Lisa Dirkse's resignation, with regrets and to appoint Cari Costello as the Township Office/Hall custodian. Supported by Baumann and carried.

17. Quote from Spectrum Printers for Voter ID cards.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to approve the quote from Spectrum Printers for the printing and mailing of Voter ID cards to all township registered voters. Supported by Baumann and carried.

18. Parks.

Supervisor Baumann shared that talks are ongoing with Ottawa County Parks & Recreation regarding the management of the township beach parks.

19. Public Comment.

Fire Department Staffing was discussed and current staffing levels are adequate.

Length of years for the SAD. Five years is appropriate.

Number and positions in recent resignations. Supervisor, Cemetery Sexton, Custodian.

20. Adjourn

Motion by Smith to adjourn. Supported by De Graaf and carried.

The meeting adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Teresa De Graaf, Clerk