Minutes of a Regular Meeting of the Port Sheldon Township Board – Held by Teleconference

December 10, 2020 – 12:00 P.M.

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Roll Call

Present via teleconference: Howard Baumann, Teresa De Graaf, Rachel Frantom, Bill Monhollon and Gerald Smith

Absent: None

Also present via teleconference: Attorney, Ron Bultje and one township resident.

- 3. Pledge of allegiance not given because of teleconference attendance.
- 4. Invocation

Teresa De Graaf offered the invocation.

- 5. Additions to Agenda –Tax collection requests. PLM Weed Control for Pigeon Lake.
- 6. Approval of Agenda

Motion by Smith to approve the agenda with additions. Supported by Monhollon and carried.

- 7. Consent Agenda Approval
 - a. Approve Minutes- November 12, 2020 Regular Meeting
 - b. Approve Financial Report
 - c. Approve Correspondence
 - d. Approve Committee Reports
 - Building November nineteen permits issued with seven new house starts.
 - Fire Department November report fifteen calls and two meetings.
 - e. Approve payment of Bills \$33,000.50.

<u>Motion</u> by Monhollon to approve the consent agenda. Supported by Smith and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

8. Budget Amendment - Elections.

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf to increase the Elections budget by moving \$2,500 from the General Fund. Supported by Frantom and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

9. Appointments – Board of Review.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to re-appoint Bob Carini, Ed Bader and Marilyn Benson to the Board of Review, with Laurie Buursma as alternate for two-year terms expiring January 1, 2023. Supported by De Graaf and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

10. Appointments – Planning Commission.

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf to approve the Supervisor's appointments and re-appoint David DeLeeuw and Del Petroelje to the Planning Commission for three-year terms expiring January 1, 2024. Supported by Smith and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

11. Appointments – Zoning Board of Appeals.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to re-appoint Bobby Forrest, Rey Mascorro and Lori Stump to the Zoning Board of Appeals for three-year terms expiring January 1, 2024. Supported by Monhollon and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

Supervisor Baumann noted that Mark Oppenhuizen, Bill Monhollon and Ed Ter Voort were appointed to the Construction Board of Appeals.

12. Consider increase in Fire Chief and Assistant Fire Chief compensation.

<u>Motion</u> by Frantom to increase the Fire Chief annual base salary to \$11,500 with a \$1,000 annual mileage payment effective January 1, 2021. Supported by Monhollon and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

<u>Motion</u> by Monhollon to increase the Assistant Fire Chief base salary to \$4,500 effective January 1, 2021. Supported by Smith and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

13. Additions to the agenda:

a. Winter Tax collections.

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to approve the request from West Ottawa Public Schools to collect the 2021 Summer Tax Levy. Supported by Frantom and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

<u>Motion</u> by Frantom to approve the request from Grand Haven Public Schools to collect the 2021 Summer Tax Levy. Supported by Smith and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

<u>Motion</u> by De Graaf to approve the request from OAISD to collect the 2021 Summer Tax Levy. Supported by Frantom and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

b. PLM Weed Control

<u>Motion</u> by Smith to enter into a contract with PLM Lake and Land Management Corporation for 2021 Pigeon Lake Weed Control treatment. Supported by Monhollon and carried with five yes roll call votes. Yes: Baumann, De Graaf, Frantom, Monhollon and Smith. Nays: None.

14. Public Comment:

Wishes for a happy, healthy holiday season.

15. Adjourn

Motion by Monhollon to adjourn. Supported by Smith and carried.

The meeting adjourned at 12:27 p.m.

Teresa De Graaf, Clerk